1 (edited by KTrenholm 2019-05-29 13:06:01)

Topic: HIDSharp: Cannot open datastream, TryOpen() always returns false?

Hello all,

I'm fairly new to working with HID, especially from the host side.  I usually stick to microcontrollers but in this case I need to write an application to monitor the traffic from my microcontroller based HID devices for testing purposes.

I've dabbled in C# .NET so HIDSharp seems perfect for whipping something up quickly with WinForms.  It's strange to me that MS doesn't just have libraries in .NET for this but that's not my problem today.

I'm working with HIDSharp v2.0.2.0 attempting to monitor traffic from a composite HID device.  The composite device consists of a Keyboard with LEDs and a 3-Button mouse.  Both are HID.  Keyboard Codes on EP1, Mouse is on EP2.  The device works with the standard windows HID Mouse and Keyboard drivers.

First things first, I want to have a look at the keyboard traffic, since I have a few weird custom scancodes I need to ensure are coming through correctly.

I am able to find the device based on the VID/PID and confirm based on the name if I am seeing the Keyboard:

HidDevice KeyboardDevice;
HidStream KeyboardStream;

HidSharp.Reports.ReportDescriptor KeyboardRptDescriptor;
HidSharp.Reports.Report KeyboardReport;
HidSharp.Reports.Input.HidDeviceInputReceiver InputReceiver;

OpenConfiguration KbdConnectCfg = new OpenConfiguration();

if (d.VendorID == 0x0000 && d.ProductID == 0xA0A0)
{

if (d.GetProductName() == "Keyboard")
    {
         KeyboardDevice = d;
         KeyboardRptDescriptor =KeyboardDevice.GetReportDescriptor();            
     }

}

if (KeyboardDevice != null)
{
    /*Device Found*/
    if (KeyboardDevice.TryOpen(out KeyboardStream))    //This always returns false
    {
        KeyboardReport = KeyboardRptDescriptor.InputReports.FirstOrDefault();
        keyboardBuffer = new byte[KeyboardDevice.GetMaxInputReportLength()];